Hawksley Workman in London

27 Nov

My sister came to visit me in London for our annual Hawksley Workman extravaganza. We beat the line and managed to get front row seats in a venue set up very much like a school essembly. A school essembly where people serve you beer and you rock out. Hey Rosetta, the opening band, were fantastic. I think they took the whole audience by surprise and blew us away with their energy. The lead singer was a bit Jeff Buckley-esque. You can listen to their album Into Your Lungs at their website. Hawksley and his band were amazing, as always. There’s a different feel to his performance each time he tours, but that warm, familiar, let’s make soup and invent TV-bikes quality always remains. The violinist, who I’d not heard before and might be new to the lineup, added a layer I can only describe as hypnotizing, sometimes eerie sometimes fierce. Not a Tyra Banks fierce though, that’s something all together different. Pre-Tyra fierce. Anyhow, as soon as I find out his name I’ll edit this post, because he was just incredible. If you’re thinking about catching the show in Toronto, do it!

Edit: His name is Jesse Zubot.

5 Responses to “Hawksley Workman in London”

  1. Kari November 27, 2008 at 9:11 pm #

    HAWKSLEY!!! When you move to Toronto (I believe I read this somewhere)… we should DEFINITELY have Hawksley beer drinking times!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. suburbqueen November 27, 2008 at 10:54 pm #

    Yes!! I can’t wait to move back and finally be able to hang out with everyone. We must do this! Hawksley fans are GO!

  3. Lil Sis December 2, 2008 at 3:31 pm #

    He is sooo like the grandma at the christmas concert.

  4. suburbqueen December 2, 2008 at 7:35 pm #

    Gramma Hawks is coming to visit!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Five: The follow-up edition « Suburb-queen blog - March 20, 2009

    […] 4. Hey Rosetta on Billboard.com: I briefly mentioned Hey Rosetta back when they opened for H Dubbs in November, but did you know that their album is so wonderful that I’ve chosen to wake up to it every morning? Hey Rosetta’s Into Your Lungs lives permanently inside my cd alarm clock! They’ve survived what is normally the ‘music-I-love massacre’ of any album assigned to shake me from my warm, blanket-laden slumber-cave every single morning! Oh yeah, they’re also touted as the next Canadian break-through on Billboard. Whatevs. A follow-up to Hawksley Workman in London 11/27/08 […]

Leave a Reply

