More Miniatures

9 Dec

theyre-not-pets-susan-1-blog
A little while ago I mentioned my love for all things miniature, and I thought I’d write about another artist along that line that makes me very happy. I’m pretty sure Slinkachu’s Little People won’t be new to you. I discovered them a year or two ago and fell instantly in love. I was talking to someone about this miniature-love and they said they didn’t really get it. I think it has something to do with fantasy worlds, imagination, and focusing really hard on a small detail in a time when such an act is almost unheard of. It reminds of me of being little, looking really closely at something on the sidewalk or in the garden, and imagining how a tiny person might navigate that terrain. Was I the only nerdy little kid who did this?  

Jon commented on my previous post with a few links on dollhouses and little things, and I found the works of Stéphanie Kilgast to be especially drool-worthy. Seriously, how does she makes these? Each setting is the size of a match, sometimes less. Click the thumbnails below to see how scary-detailed they are.

2914581296_a219db653e_m2836504952_c3b1b3ebbd_m3067163569_cef99c0fa2_m
3029709178_3697dd9333_m2999056886_24c8711f74_mapplepie

7 Responses to “More Miniatures”

  1. Brad Blanski December 9, 2008 at 5:04 pm #

    Nothing nerdy at all about using your imagination and pretending that you are small. I projected myself and imagined I was part of my toys when I was a child countless times. I guess I never grew out of it, because now I own my own miniatures website. Odin Art

  2. tinyfailures December 10, 2008 at 12:18 am #

    but they aren’t edible, are they?

  3. aarati January 2, 2009 at 2:35 am #

    totally not miniature on a real life scale but have you ever seen minipops? http://www.flipflopflyin.com will possibly amuse yo. the little musical animations of FFFBoy are great too. Happy new year!!

  4. suburbqueen January 14, 2009 at 10:27 pm #

    I love ‘A Bench’! Each one is like I’m playing the coolest super nes game ever

  5. Living January 16, 2009 at 11:02 pm #

    I really should post some of her stuff up on my blog at some point… you might be interested too. http://www.fluffybricks.blogspot.com

    It annoys me when people ‘don’t get’ my love for miniatures as well. I get a lot of ‘wow, you’ve got too much time on your hands!’ comments. 😦

  6. suburbqueen January 16, 2009 at 11:18 pm #

    Brad: the dollhouse furniture is great! They remind me of a dollhouse my cousin had when we were little, I was really jealous.

    Living: It looks like I’ll be checking your blog out very often! I can tell people make these miniature items for enjoyment, but are they typically sold? My favourites on your blog are the felted dog and the tiny knitted dolls.

  7. andipagallery December 7, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    We publish the artwork for Slinkachu and welcome you to view his work in the gallery anytime. His work, including new releases “Glory” and “Spilt Milk”, can be viewed at http://www.andipa.com. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

