Friday Five

6 Mar

twelve-year-old me's hero

The Sister Project: Celebrating sisters of all kinds, an idea I wish I had conjured up first!

Snuggly winter gear: Cutest coats and warmest boots.

Kinetic art by Casey Curran: Her pieces come alive! It makes me think of the ticking clocks scene in Pinnochio. This was sent to me by Jon, he’s always finding neat art and thoughtfully sending it my way.

Exile in Guyville: It’s been a while since my last Liz Phair phase. I was twelve when my brother loaned me a copy of What’s Up Matador. It was then that Liz Phair’s Stratford-On-Guy became my obsession. I also have this hilarious memory of playing Cat Power’s song Nude as the News in the car with my father and best friend, expecting them to marvel at my musical taste. They begged me to turn it off.

A candid letter to the two pygmy marmoset babies who live on my left index and middle fingers.

3 Responses to “Friday Five”

  1. Walk Slow March 6, 2009 at 12:19 pm #

    You’re Girly

  2. thesisterproject March 6, 2009 at 6:41 pm #

    Thank you for good words re: the sisterhood, and for an introduction to the marmosets (have never seen the pygmy strain before; fascinating). –Margaret Roach

  3. suburbqueen March 6, 2009 at 11:48 pm #

    Jon: Next time I’m drinking beer and enjoying UFC with the guys, remember that deep down I’m also the girliest girl

    Margaret: It’s a bit of a thrill to see your comment, as I’ve been reading your blog with Marion for a while now, (She Said She Said). I’m glad you like the pygmy marmosets, wait until you see pygmy goats!

Leave a Reply

