Friday Five: The follow-up edition

20 Mar

Port-a-Bach!

1. Another gadget orchestra: 
This time it’s an all-ipod MGMT cover. If MGMT were to die and become reincarnated… they would obviously come back as a group of ethinically diverse songstresses with adorable grins. And they would obviously multiply by two. A follow-up to Friday Five 02/20/09

2. A new song from St. Vincent:
The all-knowing Wikipedia Gods claimed her upcoming album Actors would be “sonically inspired by Prince”. The little taste of thick, dreamy electric guitars I got on this track makes me want to incorporate a sexual Prince joke into all of this, but I’ll hold off for today (2day). While you’re at it, click here, scroll past the ‘Blah blah blah decades-past… nostalgia-inducing pretenses blah blah blah’ and check out my favourite little tape recorder buddy. Num nums. A follow up to Lady Tunes, if you ignore my Ariel Pink digression.

3. The Eco-Friendly Port-a-Bach:
As far as housing aspirations go, I’ve upgraded from tiny traveling homes to homes made from boxes. Actually, you could say I’ve downgraded in the same way homeless people in box-towns are downgrades from hobos travelin’ the land. It’s really a matter of personal homeless-lifestyle preference, and whether or not you choose to keep your box house stationary. A follow up to I’m Not Joking 08/25/08

4. Hey Rosetta on Billboard.com:
I briefly mentioned Hey Rosetta back when they opened for H Dubbs in November, but did you know that their album is so wonderful that I’ve chosen to wake up to it every morning? Hey Rosetta’s Into Your Lungs lives permanently inside my cd alarm clock! They’ve survived what is normally the ‘music-I-love massacre’ of any album assigned to shake me from my warm, blanket-laden slumber-cave every single morning! Oh yeah, they’re also touted as the next Canadian break-through on Billboard. Whatevs. A follow-up to Hawksley Workman in London 11/27/08

5. Nadja covers MBV’s Only Shallow:
As pitchfork-centric as this post already is, I absolutely must include this. Reason: it had me doing weighty, exhaggerated head-nods in slow motion within seconds of its opening. Anyone who has seen me do this knows I have entered a realm of serious rocking/music enjoyment. A follow up to You Made Me Realise 09/24/08

5 Responses to “Friday Five: The follow-up edition”

  1. tinyfailures March 21, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    you realize that that house costs about $100k not including shipping, right?

  2. suburbqueen March 21, 2009 at 12:26 pm #

    I’ll just make my OWN shipping crate house then.

  3. tinyfailures March 21, 2009 at 5:26 pm #

    you also realize that given the nature of the container that you’d probably have to locate yourself near a natural water source and within reasonable range of civilization so the land that you’d be on would probably be somewhat valuable and that you’d still need a vehicle if you ever wanted food that you didn’t grow… so unless you’re willing to go back to agrarian times, your eco-friendliness would be limited.

    • suburbqueen March 21, 2009 at 6:11 pm #

      Stop dashing my unrealistic plans to live in a fancy glass-designy shipping crate!

      Making something old new again and taking up little space seems like an eco-friendly idea to me, and in the imaginary world of crate-dwellers I’ve created in my head, agrarianism is the hotness.

      • tinyfailures March 23, 2009 at 11:06 am #

        dashing hope.
        resume.
        added.
        thanks!

Leave a Reply

